DiscoverBoatingDiscoverBoatingDiscoverBoating

Boating Lifestyle

There is so much to love, and learn, about boating. That’s why we created this library of articles, videos and blog posts to help you throughout your adventures.

Are there any PWC-specific laws or rules in my state?

Are there any PWC-specific laws and rules in my state, such as a minimum age or mandatory education requirement?

For a downloadable version of the map, click here.

For more detailed information on state PWC laws, pleas visit: http://www.nasbla.org/refguide.php

Alabama
Age to Ride: 14 Boater Education Req’d: Yes, required for all boaters born after 4/28/54.
Restrictions on Access: N/A
Links: http://www.boat-ed.com/al/course/p4-12_reqspectopwc.htm

Alaska
Age to Ride: No age restriction. Boater Education Req’d: No
Restrictions on Access: Restrictions on some state park waters.
Links: http://www.alaskaboatingsafety.org/

Arizona
Age to Ride: 12 Boater Education Req’d:
Restrictions on Access:
Links: http://www.azgfd.gov/outdoor_recreation/boating_rules.shtml

Arkansas
Age to Ride: 16 Boater Education Req’d: Yes, required for all boaters born after 7/1/86.
Restrictions on Access: N/A
Links: http://www.boat-ed.com/ar/course/p4-12_reqspectopwc.htm

California
Age to Ride: 16 Boater Education Req’d: No
Restrictions on Access: Strict regulations for marine emissions in place. Carbon Monoxide warning label required.
Links: http://www.boat-ed.com/ca/course/p4-12_reqspectopwc.htm

Colorado
Age to Ride: 16, but younger with boater education. Boater Education Req’d: No, only required for 14-15 year olds.
Restrictions on Access: Dependent on lake management plans.
Links: http://parks.state.co.us/

Connecticut
Age to Ride: 16 Boater Education Req’d: Yes, required for all boaters.
Restrictions on Access: N/A
Links: http://www.dep.state.ct.us/rec/boating/index.htm

Delaware
Age to Ride: 14 Boater Education Req’d: Yes, for persons born after 1/1/78.
Restrictions on Access: N/A
Links: http://www.boat-ed.com/de/course/p4-12_reqspectopwc.htm

District of Columbia
Age to Ride: 13 Education Req’d: No, for vessels under less than 16 feet. PWC are considered Class A (less than 16’) inboard boats by the U.S. Coast Guard. Because of this, all PWCs are subject to the same laws and requirements as other conventional boats in this class, including numbering and registering.
Restrictions on Access: N/A
Links: http://www.boatus.org/onlinecourse/statelaws/DC.html

Florida
Age to Ride: 14 Boater Education Req’d: Yes, for persons under 21 years old.
Restrictions on Access: N/A
Links: http://myfwc.com/boating/safety/PWC_laws.htm

Georgia
Age to Ride: 12 Boater Education Req’d: No, only required for 12-15 year olds.
Restrictions on Access: N/A
Links: http://www.boat-ed.com/ga/course/p4-12_reqspectopwc.htm

Hawaii
Age to Ride: No Boater Education Req’d:
Restrictions on Access: PWC restrictions and bans in place in state conservation districts and other state managed areas.
Links: http://hawaii.gov/dlnr/dbor/bor_pwc.htm

Idaho
Age to Ride: No age restriction Boater Education Req’d: Yes
Restrictions on Access: Some county ordinances affect PWC access.
Links: http://www.idahoparks.org/recreation/boating/regulations.aspx

Illinois
Age to Ride: 18, but 12 years old with boater education. Boater Education Req’d: Yes
Restrictions on Access: N/A
Links: http://www.boat-ed.com/il/course/p4-12_reqspectopwc.htm

Indiana
Age to Ride: 15 Boater Education Req’d: Only required for persons under 16 years old.
Restrictions on Access: N/A
Links: http://www.boat-ed.com/in/handbook/pwc.htm

Iowa
Age to Ride: 12 Boater Education Req’d: No
Restrictions on Access: N/A
Links: http://www.boat-ed.com/ia/handbook/pwc.htm

Kansas
Age to Ride: 16, but younger with boater education. Boater Education Req’d: Only required for riders under 16 years old.
Restrictions on Access: N/A
Links: http://www.boat-ed.com/ks/course/p4-12_reqspectopwc.htm

Kentucky
Age to Ride: 12 Boater Education Req’d: Only required for persons under 17 years old.
Restrictions on Access: N/A
Links: http://www.boat-ed.com/ky/course/p4-12_reqspectopwc.htm

Louisiana
Age to Ride: 13 Boater Education Req’d: Yes, for all boaters born after 1/1/88.
Restrictions on Access: N/A
Links: http://www.boat-ed.com/la/course/p4-12_reqspectopwc.htm

Maine
Age to Ride: 16 Boater Education Req’d: No
Restrictions on Access: PWCs banned on many lakes under Great Ponds Act. Municipalities can petition state for bans.
Links: http://www.state.me.us/ifw/index.html

Maryland
Age to Ride: 16 Boater Education Req’d: Yes, for all boaters born after 7/1/72.
Restrictions on Access: Restrictions on Deep Creek Lake.
Links: http://www.dnr.state.md.us/boating/

Massachusetts
Age to Ride: 16 Boater Education Req’d: Only required for PWC operators under 17 years old.
Restrictions on Access: N/A
Links: http://www.mass.gov/dfwele/dle/pwcsafety.htm

Michigan
Age to Ride: 12 Boater Education Req’d: Yes, for persons born after 12/31/78.
Restrictions on Access: N/A
Links: http://www.boat-ed.com/mi/course/p4-12_reqspectopwc.htm

Minnesota
Age to Ride: 14 Boater Education Req’d: Only required for boaters under 17 years old.
Restrictions on Access: N/A
Links: http://www.boat-ed.com/mn/course/p4-12_reqspectopwc.htm

Mississippi
Age to Ride: 12 Boater Education Req’d: Yes
Restrictions on Access: N/A
Links: http://www.boat-ed.com/ms/course/p4-12_reqspectopwc.htm

Missouri
Age to Ride: 16 Boater Education Req’d: Yes, for all boaters born after 1/1/84
Restrictions on Access: N/A
Links: http://www.boat-ed.com/mo/course/p4-12_reqspectopwc.htm

Montana
Age to Ride: 13 Boater Education Req’d: Only required for persons 13-14 years old.
Restrictions on Access: N/A
Links: http://fwp.mt.gov/fishing/regulations/boatrestrictions.html

Nebraska
Age to Ride: 14 Boater Education Req’d: Yes
Restrictions on Access: N/A
Links: http://www.ngpc.state.ne.us/boating/guides/boating/BGeducate.asp

Nevada
Age to Ride: 14 Boater Education Req’d: Yes, for all persons born after 1/1/83.
Restrictions on Access: N/A
Links: http://www.boat-ed.com/nv/course/p4-12_reqspectopwc.htm

New Hampshire
Age to Ride: 16 Boater Education Req’d: Yes
Restrictions on Access: PWCS banned on lakes and ponds of less than 75 acres. 15 other named lakes and ponds prohibit PWCs.
Links: http://www.boat-ed.com/nh/course/p4-12_reqspectopwc.htm

New Jersey
Age to Ride: 13 Boater Education Req’d: Yes
Restrictions on Access: Restricted access on Point Pleasant and Cape May canals.
Links: http://www.state.nj.us/njsp/maritime/faq.html

New Mexico
Age to Ride: 13 Boater Education Req’d: No
Restrictions on Access: N/A
Links: http://www.emnrd.state.nm.us/emnrd/parks/BOATINGWeb/boatingmainpage.htm

New York
Age to Ride: 14 Boater Education Req’d: Yes
Restrictions on Access: Legislation passed in 2000 allows local regulation and bans of PWCs.
Links: http://www.nysparks.com/boats

North Carolina
Age to Ride: 14 Boater Education Req’d: No
Restrictions on Access: State regulations allow localities to further regulate PWCs.
Links: http://www.boat-ed.com/nc/course/p4-12_reqspectopwc.htm

North Dakota
Age to Ride: 12 Boater Education Req’d: Yes
Restrictions on Access: Only if restrictions apply to all boats.
Links: http://gf.nd.gov/licenses/boat-and-water.html

Ohio
Age to Ride: 16 Boater Education Req’d: Yes, for persons born after 1/1/82.
Restrictions on Access: N/A
Links: http://www.boat-ed.com/oh/course/p4-11_reqspectopwc.htm

Oklahoma
Age to Ride: 12 Boater Education Req’d: Yes
Restrictions on Access: N/A
Links: http://www.boat-ed.com/ok/course/p4-12_reqspectopwc.htm

Oregon
Age to Ride: 16 Boater Education Req’d: Yes
Restrictions on Access: PWC use restricted or prohibited on rivers.
Links: http://www.boat-ed.com/or/course/p4-12_reqspectopwc.htm

Pennsylvania
Age to Ride: 12 Boater Education Req’d: Yes
Restrictions on Access:
Links: http://www.boat-ed.com/pa/course/p4-12_reqspectopwc.htm

Rhode Island
Age to Ride: 16 Boater Education Req’d: Yes
Restrictions on Access: Cities and towns are authorized to regulate or ban PWCs.
Links: http://www.boat-ed.com/ri/course/p4-12_reqspectopwc.htm

South Carolina
Age to Ride: 16, but younger with boater education. Boater Education Req’d: Only required for persons under 16.
Restrictions on Access:
Links: http://www.boat-ed.com/sc/course/p4-12_reqspectopwc.htm

South Dakota
Age to Ride: 14 Boater Education Req’d: Yes
Restrictions on Access: N/A
Links: http://www.boat-ed.com/sd/course/p4-12_reqspectopwc.htm

Tennessee
Age to Ride: 12 Boater Education Req’d: Yes, for persons born after 1/1/89.
Restrictions on Access: N/A
Links: http://www.boat-ed.com/tn/course/p4-12_reqspectopwc.htm

Texas
Age to Ride: 13 Boater Education Req’d: Yes, for persons born after 8/31/84.
Restrictions on Access: N/A
Links: http://www.boat-ed.com/tx/course/p4-12_reqspectopwc.htm

Utah
Age to Ride: 18, but 16 years old with boater education. Boater Education Req’d: Only required for PWC operators age 12-17.
Restrictions on Access: N/A
Links: http://www.boat-ed.com/ut/course/p4-12_reqspectopwc.htm

Vermont
Age to Ride: 16 Boater Education Req’d: Yes
Restrictions on Access: Restrictions on most waters under 300 acres.
Links: http://www.boat-ed.com/vt/course/p4-12_reqspectopwc.htm

Virginia
Age to Ride: 16, but younger with boater education. Boater Education Req’d: No, only required for PWC operators under 16 years old.
Restrictions on Access: N/A
Links: http://www.boat-ed.com/va/course/p4-12_reqspectopwc.htm

Washington
Age to Ride: 14 Boater Education Req’d: Yes
Restrictions on Access: PWC use restricted on the Spokane River. Some restrictions in place at county level.
Links: http://www.boat-ed.com/wa/course/p4-12_reqspectopwc.htm

West Virginia
Age to Ride: 15 Boater Education Req’d: Yes, for persons born after 12/31/86
Restrictions on Access: N/A
Links: http://www.boat-ed.com/wi/course/p4-12_reqspectopwc.htm

Wisconsin
Age to Ride: 16, but younger with boater education. Boater Education Req’d: Yes
Restrictions on Access: N/A
Links: http://www.boat-ed.com/wi/course/p4-12_reqspectopwc.htm

Wyoming
Age to Ride: 16 Boater Education Req’d: No
Restrictions on Access: PWCs banned on some lakes.
Links: http://gf.state.wy.us/admin/regulations/chapter22/ch22wtr_new.htm

For more detailed information on state PWC laws, pleas visit:

http://www.nasbla.org/refguide.php